Regular Records May 1981

Regular Records press release May 1981
Regular records third and latest signing, The Riptides, arrived in Sydney in 1979 from their home state Brisbane. Apparently the Queensland police make life so difficult for a rock and roll band that if the band wants to survive it has to head south to the big city.
The band, calling itself The Grunge, was first formed at Queensland University in 1977 where members Mark Callaghan, Dennis Cantwell, Robert Vickers and Scott Matheson were all students of Architecture. They soon became The Numbers and made their first single ‘Sunset Strip’ which was later issued under their third and final name, The Riptides and which sold 1500 copies.

In 1979 The Riptides decided to make a tactical withdrawal from the battle with the Queensland Police, who persisted in closing down most venues and raiding those they left open, and headed for Sydney. It didn’t take them long to overcome the inevitable distrust of the Sydney crowds with their infectious danceable sound and they soon scored a residency at Chequers. Things seemed to be going well when, yes, the police raided and closed the Chequers! But by this time The Riptides had been spotted by Regular Records and in October 1980 they were signed up and back in the pubs.

After a reshuffle of personnel, The Riptides are now settled and ready to set off on a major city tour of Australia, which will coincide with the release of their first single ‘Day is Gone’ and give Australian crowds a chance to dance to the foot tapping sound they’ll soon be hearing on The Riptides album early this year, which promises to be full of their own excellent brand of dance music.
Mark Callaghan – Vocals/Guitar
Dennis Cantwell – Drums
Andrew Leitch – Guitar/keyboards
Michael Hiron – Bass